Sunday’s Review 23: Pulp Fiction

Pulp-fiction

Last week-end, I had a chance to see Pulp Fiction on the theater (which I didn’t do when it was first released because I was 6 years old) and I stupidly didn’t take it. I really wish I had because my point of view on this movie is really conditioned by the way I discovered it.

I knew the Pulp Fiction soundtrack by heart way before I saw the film. I heard John Travolta ask “You know what they put on french fries instead of ketchup?” a hundred times when I only saw the movie once or twice. And, to add up to this bias, the first time I saw Pulp fiction was at one o’clock in the morning after a pretty bibulous evening. So, my point of views on it might not be as clear as asked for a regular movie reviewer.

Nonetheless, we all (or most of all) occasionally see movies after a party or discover a movie after hearing its soundtrack. So I guess I’m going to give an opinion from a normal person, not a reviewer who would be stepping as a judge to give a valuable opinion that anyone should accept as law.

Now, that I took three paragraphs to explain who is going to talk to you about Pulp Fiction, there is not so much room to actually do it but that’s ok. I only need to say three things:

First, Quentin Tarantino cinema is different. Like or not, it is not usual and it’s nice to change sometimes.

Secondly, John Travolta, Samuel Lee Jackson, Bruce Willis, Uma Thurman, Tim Roth and Amanda Plummer (Pumpkin and Honey Bunny) and even Ving Rhames (Marcellus) are all put at a place we don’t expect them to be and they rule at it.

Finally, Quentin Tarantino’s different cinema isn’t always a crowd pleaser, often for right reasons, but this one is The one you should see if you were to see only one of his films.

I’m not going to try to tell you what it is about, just watch it, you will have fun.

 

Leave a Reply

