Sunday’s Review 17: Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Vicky-cristina-barcelona-vicky-cristina-barcelona-05-09-2008-3-g

I’m heading to Barcelona for 10 days to see my brother’s family. What a good opportunity to tell you about one of my favorite Woody Allen’s movie. Vicky Christina Barcelona could be aimed with a lot of flaws such as the lack of morality in the relationships but I don’t think that what the film is about.

Vicky Christina Barcelona is like an exposé of Woody Allen’s qualities as a director and story teller. First, he has a way to portray a city as a living character which brings Barcelona to the center of the storyline. I first discovered the beautiful city this way and I must say, I’m glad I was able to go for real to step foot in that treasure. All the movie way, we feel the city breathing, moving and taking a huge place in the other characters lives.

This brings me to a second Woody Allen’s greatness shown in this movie: He knows how to get the best from actors and, above all, how to transcend them. I would have never thought I would believe in Javier Bardem’s character here, after seeing him in No Country for old men. And, to be honest, I never thought I would be so impressed with Penelope Cruz and Rebecca Hall’s acting.

The last big Allen’s talent brought up in Vicky Christina Barcelona is maybe the most specific to this movie. perhaps, nobody feels the same way but, when I watch this movie, it’s like I’m looking at a painting. I get the emotions from the colors, the shapes, the compositions. Sometime, looking at a movie, I suddenly see a shot and say: “wo, this is a beautiful photography” but, there, it’s more than that. It’s like the story is told as much from the pictures as from the voice over narration or the acting.

To put it in a nutshell, I really wonder why Woody Allen is not so much appreciated in the USA.

 

Leave a Reply

