Sunday’s Review 16: Gigantic

Gigantic_6676

Whenever I have to start a review, I look for the first impression that the movie gave me. I’ve been standing in front of my computer for 10 minutes now, and I can’t think of anything for Gigantic. I know I put it in the « good film » category but that’s it. The only word I can figure out, in the middle of a blurry mix of ideas, is « Why? »

Why on earth is it called Gigantic? Why a hobo would want to kill the first character (Paul Dano)?  Why is Harriet so lost and ingenuous? Well, that I can answer: it’s because she’s played by Zooey Deschanel who seems to be stuck in that role. Anyway, this movie with a very interesting photography and a queer way of telling a story is puzzling me. Which isn’t a bad thing, per say; I would just like to be able to elucidate something, even if it’s only my own interpretation, but I’m not able to even do that.

If you want to get a glimpse of the atmosphere, here is the storyline: it’s about a 28yrs old guy who’s been dreaming about adopting a Chinese baby for 20 years now. He’s pretty unhappy about his life as a beds and mattresses salesman, at least compared to his two successful older brothers. One day, still waiting to get his baby, he meets Harriet, who doesn’t really know what she wants to do with her life and has a conceited as a barber’s cat father (John Goodman).

The movie is filled with incongruous characters which allow it to be an almost-comedy. The pitch doesn’t really apply to the absurd genre but certainly knocks about with it. I’ll let you decide if I’m just not seeing the  point of the film when it’s right in front of me when you will see it; because I highly invite you to watch Gigantic, if not for a quest for meaning at least for the great filming and directing.

One response to “Sunday’s Review 16: Gigantic

  1. Paul de Fombelle

    I do highly invite you to watch Gigantic, if not for a quest for meaning at least for Zooey Deschanel.

Leave a Reply

